Say It Aint Djo! How Does Novak Djokovic Rally From His U.S. Open Bounce? – The Wall Street Journal

Yeaaaaahhh … you can’t do that.

In the end, it doesn’t matter if Novak Djokovic meant to do it or not—and he says he wasn’t trying to hit a line judge with a tennis ball at the U.S. Open on Sunday—you just can’t do that.

Djokovic struck a ball in frustration, the ball hit a judge, she frighteningly tumbled to the ground, and even if he didn’t see her there, or says it was an accident, a terrible mistake, it’s still considered a punishable no-no—enough in the minds of tournament officials to send Djokovic, the Open’s No. 1 seed, shockingly home.

“We all agreed he didn’t do it on purpose, but the facts are still that he hit the line umpire,” the Open’s tournament referee, Soeren Friemel, said at a post-match news conference. “And the line umpire was clearly hurt.”

In case you’re mounting a furious defense of Djokovic in the Court of Tennis Court Second Opinions, be advised: Your client Nole has pleaded nolo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *